‘Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone’ Review

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Harry Potter

Reading Harry Potter for the first time, I have to say that I was quite disappointed. The book starts off with inspiration and energy, but through the midsection of the book, I found it to be somewhat of a bore. The moments in the school, and many of the events that transpire there, are often sparsely described and lacking in depth. I have found that in many instances, the movie was more detailed and illustrative. Rowling barely spends time at all describing the world and the scenery, failing to take advantage of some of the more interesting and imaginative ideas within the story.

Of course, therein lies the problem with someone like me reading the book. Harry Potter was written for children, and I am an adult reading the book without the early fascination and freshness that would compel a new reader to enjoy the story. That being said, I can only critique the book through my own eyes. I was not that enthralled by the idea of going to a fantastical school where the ordinary rules of life are suspended. I have experienced many stories in this vein to the point where reading such a book becomes quite an ordinary experience.

Well, most of this review sounds negative, so why three stars? ‘Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone’ ends strongly, and the scene with Dumbledore felt like nice closure to the book, and gave the story a sense of purpose and wisdom that I felt was lacking beforehand.

View all my reviews

One thought on “‘Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone’ Review

Leave a Reply

